PDA

View Full Version : [HELP!] My TS-209 is dead ;-(


raffe
03-06-09, 14:28
Hi!

Yesterday I got home and my TS-209 was dead. No sound, no lights nothing. I bought it december 2007, so no guarantee any more...

I have
* Measured the DC adaptor, and it gives 12V
* Measured the battery on the motherboard, and it gives 3V
* I cant wiht my eyes see any capacitor that is broken (no bulging etc.)

Any ideas how to proceed?

murda
03-06-09, 19:09
Seems like a faulty PSU.
It still can give you 12V with no load but that doesn't mean anything.
It can drop when you try to startup the NAS. (you hear a 'tick' , thats it)

Best way is to contact Qnap.

edit: found a similar problem http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=14384-10

raffe
04-06-09, 15:23
Seems like a faulty PSU.
It still can give you 12V with no load but that doesn't mean anything.
It can drop when you try to startup the NAS. (you hear a 'tick' , thats it)

Best way is to contact Qnap.

edit: found a similar problem http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=14384-10Thans for you post murda! You seem to be right. I gave my DC adapter to my friend (who also have a TS-209) and he promised to test it at home. Today he told me that my DC adapter don't work, when he connects it to his TS-209, he can't start it, it's as dead as mine.

With little luck that is the problem. I will try to find a new adapter, but I don't know from where. :?: Maybe from http://www.targus.com/uk/accessories_power.asp ?

BTW, I also read http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=14384-10 it was thanks to that thread that i got the idea to try the adapter on a other device. :)

When I contacted Qnap, I got this:
raffe, 2009-06-03 14:31:40:
[HELP!] My TS-209 is dead ;-(
Hi!

Yesterday I got home and my TS-209 was dead. No sound, no lights nothing. I bought it december 2007, so no guarantee any more...

I have
* Measured the DC adaptor, and it gives 12V
* Measured the battery on the motherboard, and it gives 3V
* I cant wiht my eyes see any capacitor that is broken (no bulging etc.)

Any ideas how to proceed?

QNAP Support, 14:35:11:
please contact your distributor for repair.

raffe, 14:37:00:
Yes, I could do that. But as I have no guarantee, it will cost me plenty. I thought that maybe you have some ideas about usual problems. I know soldering etc.

raffe, 14:38:17:
Maybe you have some idea about capacitors that is known to fail, or something else...

QNAP Support, 14:54:04:
a hardware problem you should send back for repair.

raffe, 14:55:00:
How long guarantee do you have?

QNAP Support, 15:01:10:
the guarantee depend upon you and your distributor

QNAP Support, 15:01:52:
I can give you a RMA forn.

QNAP Support, 15:02:31:
but we will ask our distributor thak care of you, too.

raffe, 15:03:26:
It seem like I only have 1 year guarantee, and its 1 years old. So idont have any guarantee anymore :-(

murda
05-06-09, 20:06
Call your retailer and ask how much a new PSU costs?
Should be around 50 for such PSU.

If you can find a PSU with the same output voltage and current, current can be more. And also have the same connection then you can try an alternative.