PDA

View Full Version : Javascript / HTML - which box has best support?

GlenP
15-02-10, 03:45
I've been using a PCH A-100 for a couple of years, and I wrote my own php/HTML application (similar to SwissCenter) that runs on my home server, to serve up my media in an interface I, the wife, and the kids can live with.... but it is old and tired, and I want to update it.

What I HATE is the crappy half-way support for javascript and even some basic HTML in the PCH. For example, if you simply put a table inside an absolutely positioned DIV it hangs. Only basic CSS is supported, etc.... you get the idea.

Do any other boxes have better HTML and javascript support? I want to do a better interface, but every feature I try to add, I am handicapped by the Syabas limitations.

Suggestions?

Hi-Jack
15-02-10, 07:02
Some other developers have achieved quite a good interface on the NMT players using HTML but javascript for sure is missing or limited (licensing)... In the near future there is flash support coming so that would break open your changes likely to develop your own so would it be usefull to do a makeover now over using another ready solution available already for a few more months?

By the way, the A-100 is not included into flash makeover i believe (not 100% sure) so an upgrade of a player wold be necessary as well...

GlenP
15-02-10, 16:07
Thanks for your prompt reply. I am not keeping the A-100... I am getting rid of it for something with better HTML support.... and go to an HTPC if no one has better HTML support than the PCH. But I would prefer to stick with a STB media streamer.

Although it may be a common misconception, there is no license needed for ECMA Script (javascript) nor for HTML.