PDA

View Full Version : AverMedia AverLife Extreme Vision (Sigma 8655)


androidus
05-07-10, 19:57
Has anyone had any experience with this new one? Released around June 10th. I have one on order from newegg at just over 200.00 It has both DTS-MA and Dolby True HD pass through

TheSaint7182
09-08-10, 18:57
Hi!
I'm going to get the test from a german pc magazine, where the player went straight to the top of the top 10 list. And i wrote an PM to Hi-Jack, if he has any informations about the player.

CarverS
09-08-10, 19:06
Specs looks very promising: http://www.avermedia-usa.com/AVerTV/Upload/ProductImages/0272%20Datasheet_2.pdf

TheSaint7182
09-08-10, 19:22
Yes, all the specs sound very nice but i didn't find one review in the inet. :confused:

tennisbgc
09-08-10, 19:45
No internal harddrive ?

Hi-Jack
09-08-10, 19:47
We mailed today for a sample...
From the spec we can read it has loads of online content available and supports SMB and DLNA (no NFS). Latest update added ISO BD and the unit supports TrueHD and DTSHD bitstream... We are yet unsure if it is based on Sigma / Realtek.

It seems as though mapped drives cannot be made and the SMB support is based on "auto browsing", not so good for hidden shares or convenience... but we'll see... We can only form a true opinion after playing with it and determine if the player is as good as the specifications :-)

We learned quite a bit over the years, didn't we?
Hope they send on, I want to see it at work...

TheSaint7182
09-08-10, 20:05
No internal harddrive ?
Nope! No iternal HDD and (as i know) no possibility to put a HDD in the case.

We mailed today for a sample...
From the spec we can read it has loads of online content available and supports SMB and DLNA (no NFS). Latest update added ISO BD and the unit supports TrueHD and DTSHD bitstream... We are yet unsure if it is based on Sigma / Realtek.

It seems as though mapped drives cannot be made and the SMB support is based on "auto browsing", not so good for hidden shares or convenience... but we'll see... We can only form a true opinion after playing with it and determine if the player is as good as the specifications :-)

We learned quite a bit over the years, didn't we?
Hope they send on, I want to see it at work...
Jap, we learned ... and not each experience was a positive one!
oh, and they have to hurry because i want to see the review too! :-)

tennisbgc
09-08-10, 20:22
I guess on there site they say it has a dual core cpu. http://www.avermedia.com/avertv/product/ProductDetail.aspx?Id=515

TheSaint7182
09-08-10, 20:45
The german Amazon site and iboum.com are talking about a Sigma chipset. iboum.com says that it uses the Sigma 8655.

iboum.com source:
http://www.iboum.com/pr/avextreme.php

Amazon.de source:
http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B003AP3ZH2/ref=s9_simh_gw_p23_i1?pf_rd_m=A3JWKAKR8XB7XF&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=0JZ4TKYDQS61KJKSTXJP&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=463375173&pf_rd_i=301128

TheSaint7182
09-08-10, 20:56
Got an english review:
http://hardwarezone.com/product-guide/view/33743/review/33768/page:1 (http://hardwarezone.com/product-guide/view/33743/review/33768/page:4)

SCZilong
11-08-10, 00:04
Avermedia listed that the Averlife Extreme Vision supports 10/100/1000 Gigbit port Lan...

But based on Sigma Designs' specs sheet for the Sigma 8655 it doesn't support Gigabit? :confused:

I know PCH-A200 has Gigabit because the 8643 supports it...

grinzecat
24-03-11, 07:59
So, very quiet actually regarding this player, although it seems pretty interesting (for me) due to e.g. support of "DVD-ISO, BD-ISO", as the manufacturer's website states.
Anyone aware if that includes full BD support? I would most probably give it a try since today it is on sale for 129,95€ at ibood. 8)
Oh, and of course, what about YAMJ and NFS file sharing, could not find in the specs...

frustin
24-03-11, 11:47
i saw this as well. not sure though. not enough info and YAMJ is missing.

grinzecat
24-03-11, 11:55
i saw this as well. not sure though. not enough info and YAMJ is missing.

It's not only the lack of YAMJ but NFS as well as full BD support, I got it from a german forum where it ist stated in http://www.hifi-forum.de/index.php?action=browseT&forum_id=181&thread=6205&postID=9#9 that when playback BD-iso the unit drills down to the appropriate m2ts and plays it, but no BD menu. IOW some kind of crap. :?