PDA

View Full Version : SH4100 mkv problem


Replika
20-08-10, 00:11
Have been using my SH4100 for some years now without problems, internal disk, plays basically everything.
Now connected to QNap TS-209 samba mode, some of my mkv's wont play. Screen just refreshes. All files play well on internal disk. Is this due to the limitations of the 4100?
Because some of the files it plays in samba mode have higher bitrate than the ones it wont play O.o
Audio problem 48KHz?
Any help much appreciated.

Damocles
20-08-10, 02:35
Try using NFS with your NAS drive.

Replika
20-08-10, 14:13
TS-209 ll does not support NFS.

Damocles
23-08-10, 04:39
That is why you are having problems with playing MKVs I think, because you are only using Samba.

Replika
24-08-10, 17:26
Does not make sense m8...Why would it play some MKV's with higher bitrate flawless?
Could this be a settings/sound problem? Just installed 2 new disks in the QNap...doesnt feel like doing the same process over again in a new box. What about firmware, Im using the latest official.

Damocles
30-08-10, 02:22
I am not sure for this model, you could check with DViCO and see if a firmware update will resolve the issue for you.

radiodepilhas
30-08-10, 12:53
Have been using my SH4100 for some years now without problems, internal disk, plays basically everything.
Now connected to QNap TS-209 samba mode, some of my mkv's wont play. Screen just refreshes. All files play well on internal disk. Is this due to the limitations of the 4100?
Because some of the files it plays in samba mode have higher bitrate than the ones it wont play O.o
Audio problem 48KHz?
Any help much appreciated.

Check the file siz the unit reports (You'll find as amusing as I did). SMB is broken on 4100sh over a certain file size. The only fix is NFS. But that too is broken over a certain bitrate size. Which leaves you to the only real option: upgrade.

Replika
30-08-10, 15:17
See now we're getting somewhere....or maybe not :)
It plays all files below 5 GB and none above except 1 which is 13 GB.
No logic here.
Will probably buy a 6600 or the new S1. Hopefully they wont have any problems using samba.

Replika
30-08-10, 16:43
This could very well be the problem, since I just upgraded to 2 WD EARS 2TB

http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23948

Looks like I'm gonna do the process all over again...aarghh!!!

radiodepilhas
30-08-10, 17:13
This could very well be the problem, since I just upgraded to 2 WD EARS 2TB

http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23948

Looks like I'm gonna do the process all over again...aarghh!!!

I have the same issue with either four Seagate ES.2 1 Tb each or 4 Samsgung 203 2 Tb each.

I can't really blame the drives. Would like to know if the Tvix works with a SMB share from a windows OS. I'm using SMB with a synology NAS.

radiodepilhas
30-08-10, 17:44
This could very well be the problem, since I just upgraded to 2 WD EARS 2TB

http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23948

Looks like I'm gonna do the process all over again...aarghh!!!

I have the same issue with either four Seagate ES.2 1 Tb each or 4 Samsgung 203 2 Tb each.

I can't really blame the drives. Would like to know if the Tvix works with a SMB share from a windows OS. I'm using SMB with a synology NAS.

ilev
30-08-10, 19:07
Microsoft has issued a warning not to use the new drives with WHS for now.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2385637/en-us

Recommendation Windows Home Server v1: Do not use Advanced Format disks in your Windows Home Server v1.