PDA

View Full Version : Using Qnap NFS on YaDIS?


a5ian300zx
30-06-11, 21:08
Hi All,

Just wanted to highlight my issue on a single thread and try resolve this issue for myself and other users who use Qnap and have similar issue.

ISSUE:
on the YaDIS interface on the Qnap when i launch it I can play the movies fine when i go to all movies but NOT in second menu below is the titles i use:

Selection (this is where is can mark the movies in YADIS and it will appear in this list i.e movies not watched)
Genre
Actors
Directors

See below for the error I get

First my setup

Dune:
This is connected to the network using NFS with TCP protcol (i have tried UDP too)

Qnap:
latest firmware version: 3.4.3
NFS enabled and the user account has full read/write access, oplocks disabled.

Qnap Mapping:
IP: 192.168.1.131
Folder: Qmultimedia

YaDIS Paths:

Dune interface location: \\A5IAN300ZX\Qmultimedia\Video

YaDIS Mapping (case sensitive):

\\A5IAN300ZX\Qmultimedia\Video
nfs://192.168.1.131:/share/MD0_DATA/Qmultimedia:/Video/HD Movies

also tried the below
\\A5IAN300ZX\Qmultimedia\Video
nfs://192.168.1.131:/qmultimedia:/Video/HD Movies

both the above work on the movie and then all movie selection but not any of the other menus as mentioned above.

ERROR example:

when dune is set on tcp
nfs-tcp://192.168.1.131:qmultimedia/Video.../00/00/Traffic [200 DTS 1080p VOA].mkv

or when dune is set on udp

nfs-udp://192.168.1.131:qmultimedia/Video.../00/00/Traffic [200 DTS 1080p VOA].mkv

The below path which is correct is what is in the YaDIS/00/00/movie title/Dune_folder.txt for each movie.

nfs-tcp://192.168.1.131:/qmultimedia:/Video/HD/HD To Watch/Traffic [200 DTS 1080p VOA].mkv

So im not sure how YaDIS comes up with the error path where it is nowhere to be seen/located in any of the .txt files or .XML files?

So far user C-fling has confirmed that everything is working on his Qnap with the below type mapping path.

nfs://192.168.1.131:/share/MD0_DATA/Qmultimedia:/Video/HD Movies

PS: I have tried it on a USB stick which works fine too, but ideally would like to keep everything in one location and source.

a5ian300zx
02-07-11, 11:24
Hi,

Could users with Qnap and yadis upload the following please as it will help me to see what actually happening.

upload your the file located in the below folder please.

interface on Dune
YaDIS/00/00/movie title/Dune_folder.txt

I just want to compare.

I can maybe try using UNFS on the Qnap and see if that helps.

a5ian300zx

hh32
02-07-11, 13:47
Here my dune_folder.txt.
NFS works fine with the qnap integrated nfs server.
My configuration:
yadis index is located on the HD in dune and movies are on qnap and syno nas.
I hope to help you.

*** NE PAS SUPPRIMER OU MODIFIER CETTE LIGNE - DO NOT DELETE OR MODIFY THIS LINE ***
background_order=before_all
background_path=background.jpg
use_icon_view=yes
icon_path=icon.aai
icon_sel_path=icon.aai
icon_scale_factor=0.9
icon_valign=center
paint_captions=no
paint_help_line=no
paint_path_box=no
paint_content_box_background=no
paint_scrollbar=no
paint_icon_selection_box=no
paint_icons=no
system_files=*.aai,*.jpg
item.0.caption=Play
item.0.media_url=nfs://192.168.0.12:/SDTV/Chaos/Chaos.ts

a5ian300zx
03-07-11, 00:28
Here my dune_folder.txt.
NFS works fine with the qnap integrated nfs server.
My configuration:
yadis index is located on the HD in dune and movies are on qnap and syno nas.
I hope to help you.


Thanks for the reply, it works fine for you because you have it on a HDD, but for some reason it wont work when stored on the NAS itself.

a5ian300zx

hh32
03-07-11, 00:35
That seems right, this is already known for the smb protocol.
But the issue is the same for nfs, for me it is new.
I will test it sometimes shortly for you.

Maik1966
03-07-11, 17:58
Hi a5ian300zx,

this is my dune_folder.txt

*** NE PAS SUPPRIMER OU MODIFIER CETTE LIGNE - DO NOT DELETE OR MODIFY THIS LINE ***
background_order=before_all
background_path=background.jpg
use_icon_view=yes
icon_path=icon.aai
icon_sel_path=icon.aai
icon_scale_factor=0.8
icon_valign=center
paint_captions=no
paint_help_line=no
paint_path_box=no
paint_content_box_background=no
paint_scrollbar=no
paint_icon_selection_box=no
paint_icons=no
system_files=*.aai,*.jpg
item.0.caption=Play
item.0.media_url=smb://192.168.178.23/FILME/Komödie/(500) DAYS OF SUMMER.MPG

I am using the smb protocol and it's working fine for me.

Hope that this can help you...

Maik

C-Fling
05-07-11, 00:41
The below path which is correct is what is in the YaDIS/00/00/movie title/Dune_folder.txt for each movie.

nfs-tcp://192.168.1.131:/qmultimedia:/Video/HD/HD To Watch/Traffic [200 DTS 1080p VOA].mkv


That path still does not look right to me.

Here's an example from a working dune_folder.txt (note: I do not have the problems that you are experiencing)

item.0.caption=Play
item.0.media_url=nfs://192.168.0.194:/share/MD0_DATA/Qmultimedia:/Movies/Blu-ray/300 (2006)/300.2006.1080p.DTS.Remux.mkv


Also, I'm using an NFS-udp connection from the Dune to the NAS.

Good luck!

a5ian300zx
05-07-11, 11:28
That path still does not look right to me.

Here's an example from a working dune_folder.txt (note: I do not have the problems that you are experiencing)

item.0.caption=Play
item.0.media_url=nfs://192.168.0.194:/share/MD0_DATA/Qmultimedia:/Movies/Blu-ray/300 (2006)/300.2006.1080p.DTS.Remux.mkv


Also, I'm using an NFS-udp connection from the Dune to the NAS.

Good luck!

To round up the issue (i have the dune setup with NFS TCP) below is that path on the Yadis software, but it is also the path located in the yadis interface folder 00\00\movie title has the below path

nfs://192.168.1.131:/share/MD0_DATA/Qmultimedia:/Video/HD Movies

but when i tried to play the file it picks up this totally wrong path which i don't know where its coming from.

nfs-tcp://192.168.1.131:qmultimedia/Video.../00/00/Traffic [200 DTS 1080p VOA].mkv

hence the reason it does not work.

it works perfect from usb stick.

a5ian300zx

a5ian300zx
08-07-11, 17:12
I think i might have to switch to a USB stick method - because this is just really doing my head in as there is no other options on the Qnap or Dune. unless i start to manually SHS in the Qnap and set paths to see if this helps which i don't really want to do for something so small.

Thanks

Senseohasser
10-07-11, 21:08
For me and my QNAP NFS this works:

I enter this in the yaDIS options:

nfs://192.168.1.xxx:/Mediaserver/Aktuell

this results in:
item.0.media_url=nfs://192.168.1.xxx:/Mediaserver/Aktuell/22 Bullets.mkv

a5ian300zx
12-07-11, 13:27
For me and my QNAP NFS this works:

I enter this in the yaDIS options:

nfs://192.168.1.xxx:/Mediaserver/Aktuell

this results in:
item.0.media_url=nfs://192.168.1.xxx:/Mediaserver/Aktuell/22 Bullets.mkv


hi,

Thanks I have used that one too but using absolute paths now I have the same setting in my Yadis and also in the Yadis interface folder.

i.e
item.0.media_url=nfs://192.168.1.131:/share/MD0_DATA/Qmultimedia:/Video/HD Movies/22 Bullets.mkv

Path in Yadis software
nfs://192.168.1.131:/share/MD0_DATA/Qmultimedia:/Video/HD Movies/22 Bullets.mkv

thanks

Fred-L
20-07-11, 15:06
I've got one french user that reported to me the same issue. Not with a Qnap NAS but a Windows 2003 Server.
To solve the problem, he created the connection to the interface using SMB instead of NFS. Note that you can keep NFS in Dune paths that are used to launch movies.
The problem is not related to the Dune paths you enter for each source directory. It is related to the connection you create on the Dune to access the remote interface.

a5ian300zx
20-07-11, 17:01
I've got one french user that reported to me the same issue. Not with a Qnap NAS but a Windows 2003 Server.
To solve the problem, he created the connection to the interface using SMB instead of NFS. Note that you can keep NFS in Dune paths that are used to launch movies.
The problem is not related to the Dune paths you enter for each source directory. It is related to the connection you create on the Dune to access the remote interface.

Hi fred,

could you please point me to right direction, which one would need the SMB setup?? on Yadis software on PC or the Dune player

Thanks

Fred-L
20-07-11, 21:21
On the Dune.
Normally, you have created a network connection to access the folder that contains the yaDIS interface. This connection should use SMB instead of NFS.

a5ian300zx
21-07-11, 01:22
On the Dune.
Normally, you have created a network connection to access the folder that contains the yaDIS interface. This connection should use SMB instead of NFS.


Thanks - works perfect with SMB, does that mean there media is being launched using nfs protocol as setup in yadis?

a5ian300zx

Fred-L
21-07-11, 08:41
Yes, if you specified dune paths with NFS in yaDIS, the media will be launched using NFS.

menace208
29-07-11, 07:21
I recently encountered a similar problem after upgrading to yadis 2.12. My setup is similar to the above I.E Dune 3.0 with qnap NAS hosting all my video files using NFS protocol to connect. I am using basic export.
With yadis 2.11, everything was working perfectly. However new movies processed using yadis 2.12 would not play. Dune was reporting an NFS-TCP error saying file could not be found. This is due to the fact that yadis 2.12 started using relative paths in the media_URL field. When there is a full NFS path in media_URL (yadis 2.11), this error does not occur.
to work around this problem, I have changed the shortcut on the dune from NFS to SMB.
I am not sure if this is a bug in the dune firmware or on the qnap.

prometheus
16-08-11, 16:51
thanks guys i think you just answered all my questions about how to set yadis up on my ultra 4.

but i do have one question ??? im planning to use one of the drive bays on my dune duo as a backup target for the the nas.

anyone tried this ???

a5ian300zx
22-12-11, 13:16
Hi,

Resolved

With latest 3.5.2 firmware on my Qnap and im using Yadis 2.1.7. I can confirm that launching movies within NFS works perfect now.

a5ian300zx