PDA

View Full Version : Yadis configuration - Stuttering playback


JonDotHcor
23-02-12, 20:01
I am hoping someone with some more experience with Setting up YaDis and other Jukebox software can give me a hand with an odd issue.


I currently have a Dune HD Smart H1 with an internal HDD where I keep all my media.

I had Zappiti setup and working fine, but my PCs Hard drive crapped out, and Im back to getting everything installed again. (Zappiti folders/index is still on the local HDD of Dune).

Since I am starting fresh and I always wanted to try YaDis, I gave it a go last night. I configured YaDis to the best of my ability using instructions and some tutorials I found. Its actually pretty straight forward aside from some tinkering with the dune location and share information. That being said, I was able to get YaDis to see my library on the Dunes internal HDD, I processed movies, and exported to Dune. I can access the Yadis interface and my movie wall shows up as it should. However any media I Play stutters and freezes badly. Its acting as if its streaming over a slow connection, when it should just be playing it right from the Dune itself. It is not the Dune, as I can navigate to the files directly and they play fine, and I can play them fine from the Zappiti interface. It seems to me that something is not right with the share locations or Dune Paths. I like the Yadis look and software better so Id like to get this working. What is the correct definitive way to setup the Dune paths and locations?

Simple Windows workgroup - Dune is connected via lan to my router

I have a Media folder on the root of Dune, with Subfolders for movie types eg:

\\Dune\Media\Movies\Kids

\\Dune\\Media\Movies\MoviesHD

\\Dune\Media\TVShows


Dune Interface location: I select by browsing to the Dune location via Network.

Ive tried multiple things for Dune Path for each folder location. Below is similar to what I have tried:

\\Dune\Media\Movies\

Smb://Dune_xxxxx_xxxx_xxxxx_xxxx/Media/Movies/Kids

Also tried

Smb://storage_uuid xxxx


Any ideas?

Mr Eric
23-02-12, 20:20
You need to use storage_uuid=xxxxx\media\movies (or \tvshows). Right now your dune is trying to access your internal hdd through the network, which of course makes it stutter...

JonDotHcor
23-02-12, 21:00
I did use the Storage_uuid=xxxx\path, re processed and exported movies, and now when I go to a movie through Yadis interface, select the movie, get the actual movie page, i cannot play movie, enter or play functions on remote do nothing now. I can browse my movie wall, select each movie, see the art, etc, just wont play. Of course I can still play them direct or through zappiti no problem.

Fred-L
23-02-12, 21:10
With your setup, yaDIS should give you the right Dune path automatically using storage_uuid. Nothing else to do.

What are exactely the source folders you gave to yaDIS ?
It can't be something like "\\Dune\Media\Movies\Kids" but something like "\\Dune\DuneHDD_xxxxx_xxxx_xxxxx_xxxx\Media\Movies\ Kids".

JonDotHcor
24-02-12, 02:41
btw Im using YaDIS 2.0

In the Dune interface location and the folder location on folders tab, it will only let me browse to select locations, cant manual edit. So I just browse to the folder which you can see in the Screenshots. you can see in ss's what im working with. I cant seem to get it right. As it is now....Yadis shows the movie wall like its all working but if you select a movie and press Enter or play, nothing happens.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/594/capturehr.jpg
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/6/capture2id.jpg
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/853/capture3yl.jpg

Fred-L
24-02-12, 09:53
btw Im using YaDIS 2.0

In the Dune interface location and the folder location on folders tab, it will only let me browse to select locations, cant manual edit. So I just browse to the folder which you can see in the Screenshots. you can see in ss's what im working with. I cant seem to get it right. As it is now....Yadis shows the movie wall like its all working but if you select a movie and press Enter or play, nothing happens.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/594/capturehr.jpg
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/6/capture2id.jpg
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/853/capture3yl.jpg
There is something wrong. The source folder is not coherent with the Dune path regarding the uuid.
Is this really the internal HDD ?
Do you have a file "dune_folder.txt" at the root of the HDD ? To check that, don't forget to allow the display of hidden files in windows explorer. If yes, delete it. This is a file created by zappiti that just makes a mess with yaDIS... After deleting this file, restart the Dune and your PC and tell me if the share of the HDD is still "STORAGE_89a34" when you browse to it via the network.

Fred-L
24-02-12, 10:04
Another thing: in the Dune path, enter "storage_uuid" instead of "Storage_uuid".

JonDotHcor
24-02-12, 21:09
Yes I did see that file on the root of the Dune HDD. I will delete that when i get home. I was wondering where that came from. I will also make the edit on storage_uuid you mentioned. Hopefully this gets it done. Ill report back, the help is much appreciated.

Frasier
24-02-12, 21:18
is your harddrive > than 2tb? i also had issues with my new 2,5 tb harddrive.
i made two partitions and now everything works fine.
i found out that yadis and dune with harddrives more than 2tb are not a good combination.

JonDotHcor
25-02-12, 02:17
Deleting the file on the root of the Dune HDD resolved the issue. After I did that, the HDD name was normal again, and I was able to directly browse to location within YaDIS and select my folders. Movies processed, exported, and playing smooth from YaDis. All from that one left over file. Never would have known to delete it.

Thanks for your help!!