Navigation » MPC Club Community Board > Media Player Section > Media Players anno 2012 > HDI Dune » Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

Notices

» Slysoft Recommended!
1 CLick BD and DVD backups
Download AnyDVD HD!
For Blu-Ray and DVD!
» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
» Stats
Members: 88,230
Threads: 29,729
Posts: 252,100
Welcome to our newest member, gandalf szalony
» MPC Club Advertisers and Sponsors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-04-12, 01:33   #1
Stoke192
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wirral, UK
Posts: 6
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

HI,
I recently bought a TV-301 and i'm having HD audio play back problems both DTS MA and True HD are dropping out during play back.
This happens with both blu ray (folder structure) and single .m2ts files played from over a G/bit lan and also of the installed HDD.

Any other 301 owners having the same problems ? and also will upgrading to the latest beta firmware (currently on shipped firmware) sort this problem out ?.

I also own a HDX 1000 and all my files play without any probs, is it the 301 is very picky in what it plays or is there some thing else wrong ?

Thanks
Stoke192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertising
Advertising temporarily disabled
Old 21-04-12, 20:41   #2
Wurst
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

I had a 301a here to test it.

TrueHD 5.1 Files played only as 2.0 Stereo.
DTS-HD MA files had drop outs and the input signal of my yamaha AVR was flickering.
Wurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-12, 22:54   #3
Stoke192
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wirral, UK
Posts: 6
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

Thanks for the reply,

I've done a few more tests and playing the core tracks over hdmi work fine, so rules out problematic files.

A HD audio problem it is then.

Anyone else ??
Stoke192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-12, 17:50   #4
supermario11
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Loughborough, Leics UK
Posts: 31
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

I've had the same problem with the Dune hd max and as was said this only happens with DTS master audio and Dolby tru-hd. Normal dolby digital and DTS like on DVD are fine. I thought (hope) it might be a firmware issue and it might corrected on the next firmware update, but some people say it's not a firmware issue.

Last edited by supermario11; 22-04-12 at 18:22.
supermario11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-12, 22:57   #5
Stoke192
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wirral, UK
Posts: 6
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

Originally Posted by supermario11 View Post
but some people say it's not a firmware issue.
Hi,
So your saying that it could be a hardware issue, can you elaborate ?

Thanks
Stoke192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-12, 21:57   #6
supermario11
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Loughborough, Leics UK
Posts: 31
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

I've read else where on these forums where someone had the same problem and back dated to an earlier firmware and said that the problem was corrected. But i'm not suggesting that you do that but, check your settings from the dune to your av amp. Rudik28 from another forum suggested that i should have the dune set to PCM (decode) from bitstream. I 've just tried that but now it plays in pro-logic, which to me is not proper surround sound. Does anyone know what the S/PDIF sample rate should be set to ? And by altering this would that make any difference ?
supermario11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-12, 22:20   #7
Kat-CeDe

TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Senior Member
 
Kat-CeDe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany near Bremen
Posts: 879
Contribution: 0.35%
Thanks: 9
Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

Hi,
Originally Posted by supermario11 View Post
the dune set to PCM (decode) from bitstream. I 've just tried that but now it plays in pro-logic, which to me is not proper surround sound.
it depends. I have the Prime 3 and when I set my Dune to PCM I also get pro logic but this is because my receiver makes 7.1 out of 5.1 and this is also done with pro logic. How is you Dune connected to your AVR? Multichannel PCM only works with HDMI. When the connection is SPDIF it is only stereo but can be up to 192KHz.

Ralf
Kat-CeDe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-12, 23:01   #8
supermario11
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Loughborough, Leics UK
Posts: 31
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

The dune is connected to a Naim Audio AV2 processor an old but good processor so it doesn't have any hdmi's. It is connected with a digital coax cable and this set up was used to set a high end Denon blu-ray machine and there was never any problems with any audio drop outs.
supermario11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-12, 22:31   #9
Pras1011
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

Is there any updates on this as I have the same problem with the latest firmware.
Pras1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-12, 14:31   #10
hazzad
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Experienced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 128
Contribution: 0.05%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Dune TV-301 HD audio playback problems

Are you running with gigabit switch and streaming from your network? If so try a 100 Mbit switch of switch the streaming source back to 100 Mbit. I found a gigabit switch caused audio drop outs with my Prime. Switched my PC back to 100 Mbit and issue dissapeared. Have since found that adjusting flow control on the NIC on my streaming source has resolved the issue.
hazzad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» MPC top List...

TOP 5 Regular media players

  • Popcorn Hour C-300 (81%)
  • Mede8er Med500x2 (80%)
  • Dune SMART (D1) (65%)
  • HDI Dune Base 3.0 (52%)
  • DViCo TViX X-Roid (00%)

TOP 5 Hybrid media players

  • HDI Dune BD Prime 3.0 (75%)
  • HDI Dune HD SMART B1 (74%)
  • PoPCorn Hour C-200 (68%)
  • HDI Dune MAX (54%)

We do not recommend currently...

  • Xtreamer products
  • Hantech products
  • MViX products
  • DviCo products
  • HDX products
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.1 - twisted by vbTwist and Hi-Jack (MPC Club)