Navigation » MPC Club Community Board > Media Player Section > Art Work (ALL) > HDI Artwork > Yadis » yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Notices

» Slysoft Recommended!
1 CLick BD and DVD backups
Download AnyDVD HD!
For Blu-Ray and DVD!
» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
» Stats
Members: 87,554
Threads: 29,602
Posts: 251,155
Welcome to our newest member, waqarkeihk
» MPC Club Advertisers and Sponsors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-12, 00:15   #1
Smurfin
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Hi all
I'm slowing working my way through a large media collection (circa 1200 movies), making sure all the cover art, movie ratings and genres are correct. As you can imagine it's taking a hell of alot of time, especially as many of my movies were named for YAMJ scraping with the popcorn hour (which is what I've moved from).

Whilst I love yaDIS (very very good imho), tonight when coming to do another batch, I'm finding that it's taking up to 30 seconds for each file to be processed, sometimes with "Not responding" showing until it decides to do its thing. I was wondering if this is a common occurence as if so, it's going to be very painful. Last night it flew through each movie as I made changes, so although tiresome the whole process is...it was bearable.

There's one other "tonight only" specific problem I'm encountering. When bulk processing (i.e. before I change any individual details) it keeps missing some and when I select change title it immediately shows the right movie - but then when I click on it nothing happens? So there's a handful of movies which are titled correctly but it won't let me process?

The only other gripe I have with yaDIS in general is around certificates and ratings. Half of the UK certificates seem to be missing (which is a pain looking up imdb unless I know it off by heart), but almost every single rating right. In general they are much higher than I know them to be (I'm thinking of imdb), so where do these ratings come from?

Any advice (or answers) would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Smurfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertising
Advertising temporarily disabled
Old 05-05-12, 08:16   #2
Sjonnie

TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Senior Member
 
Sjonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 592
Contribution: 0.24%
Thanks: 54
Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Hi smurfin,

Check how large your workspace folder is (users\your name\workspace is the default location). Try to flush the image cache (second button from the top right). see if there are any hidden files in your workspace folder or the folders of your media. If so, remove them.

HTH

Greetz,

Sjonnie
__________________
Dune Base 3.0 with latest firmware (sold )
Foxconn nT-A3500 - 4GB - 16 GB SDHC with OpenELEC 2.99.5 (XBMC)

Proud sponsor of yaDIS

Synology DS211 2x2TB Raid0
Synology CS-406 4x500GB Raid0


Don't be hesitant to hit Thanks if one of us helped in any way

If it don't fit use a hammer
Sjonnie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-12, 11:32   #3
Smurfin
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Just flushed the image cache but it's still as slow, so I'm a bit stumped. Looking in the individual data files it looks like there's no hidden files? Any other ideas?

My workspace folder is 8.4GB....
Smurfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-12, 12:55   #4
Smurfin
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Ok, just moved my yaDIS folder/workspace etc to my C: drive which is an SSD. It's just as slow
Smurfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-12, 23:03   #5
Smurfin
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

I managed to sort the speed issue, by restarting yaDIS. However, when I go to the wall on the Dune now, none of my movie artwork shows except what I processed today. Any ideas?

Thanks
Smurfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-12, 07:55   #6
Sjonnie

TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Senior Member
 
Sjonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 592
Contribution: 0.24%
Thanks: 54
Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

I have had a similar issue (and it appears that more are experiencing it since 2.2) I was utterly confused and almost tore my hair out (never went to that wall though)

I did the following to try to resolve my issue. Maybe there is one thing I did you haven't tried. Let's see...
  1. I flushed the image cache and re-exported (no luck for me and you)
  2. I reset the Dune interface (partially solved my issue but some TV shows were not exported)
  3. I removed the exported files and re-exported (no luck)
  4. I moved the workspace folder and rebuilt a new one. After export some more shows but not all
  5. Investigated the file and folder structure of the NAS where my media files are stored. (Bingo! as you can read below)

As it appears yaDIS "crashed"/"skipped" movies or TV shows that had one of the following files in their folder:
  • thumbs.db:encryptable (hidden file)
  • @eadir (hidden folder where my NAS keeps the wastebasket files from Windows)

After removing both hidden files and folders export went like a dream: complete and very fast..

Don't know if this might help you in any way but at least you have something to do/test this Sunday

Greetz,

Sjonnie
__________________
Dune Base 3.0 with latest firmware (sold )
Foxconn nT-A3500 - 4GB - 16 GB SDHC with OpenELEC 2.99.5 (XBMC)

Proud sponsor of yaDIS

Synology DS211 2x2TB Raid0
Synology CS-406 4x500GB Raid0


Don't be hesitant to hit Thanks if one of us helped in any way

If it don't fit use a hammer
Sjonnie is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sjonnie For This Useful Post:
Smurfin (08-05-12)
Old 08-05-12, 08:58   #7
Smurfin
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Thanks. Sadly I think I'm going to have to start again. Tried all of the above and over half of my movies are missing unless I individually make a change (i.e. title, source box, art work etc) and then save each one as I go. However, last night it was bugging me again and I reset the Dune interface again.

Now all of the movies that I processed over the weekend have gone again

Gutted, as I've now wasted many hours doing this...
Smurfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-12, 19:28   #8
Smurfin
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Any ideas beyond starting from scratch?
Smurfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-12, 19:37   #9
Sjonnie

TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Senior Member
 
Sjonnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 592
Contribution: 0.24%
Thanks: 54
Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

Hi Smurfin,

I am sort of stumped right now :S

Maybe it is time to look at your yaDIS setup and other circumstantial influences which may be the root of your problem. So....
  • How does your yaDIS config look like? (a screen-dump from the set-up screen may be of help)
  • What does your infrastructure look like?
  • How do you access your media disks?
  • Where do you export to?

Maybe I or someone else can see something that might cause all this agony

HTH

Greetz,

Sjonnie
__________________
Dune Base 3.0 with latest firmware (sold )
Foxconn nT-A3500 - 4GB - 16 GB SDHC with OpenELEC 2.99.5 (XBMC)

Proud sponsor of yaDIS

Synology DS211 2x2TB Raid0
Synology CS-406 4x500GB Raid0


Don't be hesitant to hit Thanks if one of us helped in any way

If it don't fit use a hammer
Sjonnie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-12, 21:54   #10
Smurfin
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Active Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Contribution: 0.01%
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: yaDIS slow at processing? (and dodgy ratings)

My setup looks as follows:

Profile - Dune
Workspace - C:\yaDIS\workspace
Dune interface - Z:\yaDIS

Ignore articles for the sort of movies the,an, le etc etc = ticked

Folders:

Movies
Z:\DVD
Z:\HD

TV Shows
Z:\TV

Interface:

Options

Use cases for movies = ticked
Display the selection frame = ticked
Display the scrollbar = ticked

And then just the usual bits around categories.

Drive Z: is a master share on my unRAID server, so the folder tree looks like this:

Z: (Movie Jukebox)

DVD
HD
TV
Italian Collection (not added yet)
yaDIS

Strangely, in my yaDIS/00/99 folder there are only 312 movie folders showing, even though I have 1300 in my collection.

The only thing I can think of was that I initially started with the workspace folder on my A: drive. Then I copied and pasted it onto my SSD (C drive. The problems started then, and were compounded by the "ignore articles" box was unchecked. I ran another bulk process/export, and then changed it afterwards.

Any ideas? I feel at a loss other than doing a clean install. At least I know what to do this time (I think).

I've got one other question: as my workspace is on my main PC, I'm assuming this needs to be on in order to access the artwork? If so, how can I store this on my server, as there will be 2 folders called yaDIS? (although I could put my workspace folder on another unraid share?). Is this likely to cause me speed issues when processing/changing individual files?

I'm a bit of a perfectionist, as particularly as I'm going to be moving to a CIH projection system soon, I want to be able to see all the correct aspect ratios etc.

One final question: on the interface tab, there is a "new shortcut" area with "location", name and dune path options. If I wanted to make a category called "Italian" for example, can I achieve this? If so, would the Dune path be: Z:\Italian Collection and would this then add another genre to my selection?

Thanks for your help
Smurfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» MPC top List...

TOP 5 Regular media players

  • Popcorn Hour C-300 (81%)
  • Mede8er Med500x2 (80%)
  • Dune SMART (D1) (65%)
  • HDI Dune Base 3.0 (52%)
  • DViCo TViX X-Roid (00%)

TOP 5 Hybrid media players

  • HDI Dune BD Prime 3.0 (75%)
  • HDI Dune HD SMART B1 (74%)
  • PoPCorn Hour C-200 (68%)
  • HDI Dune MAX (54%)

We do not recommend currently...

  • Xtreamer products
  • Hantech products
  • MViX products
  • DviCo products
  • HDX products
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.1 - twisted by vbTwist and Hi-Jack (MPC Club)