Navigation » MPC Club Community Board > PVR and DVR > PVR and DVR General > Ellion HMR-700A » Exact same problem: FW upgrade killed my machine

Notices

» Slysoft Recommended!
1 CLick BD and DVD backups
Download AnyDVD HD!
For Blu-Ray and DVD!
» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
» Stats
Members: 88,317
Threads: 29,730
Posts: 252,155
Welcome to our newest member, Steve Zodiac
» MPC Club Advertisers and Sponsors
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-06-08, 18:22   #11
WeeHappyPixie
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 6
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Still no luck.I have even taken thedrive out and wiped it with the seagate tools.

I think I now have a brick.
John
WeeHappyPixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-08, 22:15   #12
svcglobal
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Addicted to MPC
 
svcglobal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 88
Contribution: 0.03%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Originally Posted by WeeHappyPixie
Still no luck.I have even taken the drive out and wiped it with the seagate tools.

I think I now have a brick.
John
Hello John,

Very sorry to read that.
Did you tried with a different USB pen drive? Take one from one friend if you do not have another, format FAT (not FAT32) and save the firmware on it.
I do not think that you have a brick there (well, not yet).

Sergio
svcglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-08, 22:24   #13
WeeHappyPixie
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 6
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi

Yeah I a tried 5 different USB sticks all formatted as FAT. I'm an IT administraor and an electronics engineer. I'm convinced the unit is not flashing correctly even though it says installation complete.

I assume that the battery thas mentioned in the post is the capacitor in the middle of the board as I cant see no other battery.

John
WeeHappyPixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-08, 01:01   #14
svcglobal
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Addicted to MPC
 
svcglobal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 88
Contribution: 0.03%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Originally Posted by WeeHappyPixie
Hi

Yeah I a tried 5 different USB sticks all formatted as FAT. I'm an IT administraor and an electronics engineer. I'm convinced the unit is not flashing correctly even though it says installation complete.

I assume that the battery thas mentioned in the post is the capacitor in the middle of the board as I cant see no other battery.

John
Exactly as me but I am retired now.
And yes, that is the 3.0v battery. The main purpose of have it is for keeping running the clock even without the power. But I think that it also retains some system registers in memory.
Really its hard to believe that your Ellion is dead but I can't recall any other way to bring it to life again.
The Ellion support sometimes do post in this forum and hope that he will help you with more tips.
Good luck,

Sergio
svcglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-08, 14:03   #15
WeeHappyPixie
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 6
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks Sergio,

Personally I have found Ellions support very poor. They rarely ever return emails.

I'm convinced I got a brick.

John
WeeHappyPixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-08, 20:49   #16
svcglobal
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Addicted to MPC
 
svcglobal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 88
Contribution: 0.03%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Some news here.
Since yesterday, my 350H starting a erratic behavior, with consecutive freezing during NDAS data download or upload to/from computer.
This problem started to be more frequent just replacing the 250MB Seagate for one Samsung of 500MB.
So, I started to measure the voltage of both power supplies and found 11.97v and 4.68v just on the HD pins.
The worst occur when connecting another one of 120GB in the USB port: The 5v supply show only 4.55v.
Both power supplies are running in switching mode and controlled by an IC 1509 PWM @ 150KHz each one.
The output voltage on the PS filter capacitor of 470mF x 16v where about 4.98v so the drop is related to the printed circuit board tracks and thru holes from up and down side.
So, I decided to increase the PS voltage to 5.20v in order to have the correct voltage on the HD power input changing the SMD resistor of 3Kohm to 3.3Kohm - it is very tiny and my advise is to NOT do that I did if you do not have the proper skill. It is connected to the pin 3 of the IC.

The Ellion is stable now, no more freezing at all.
More details please PM me.
svcglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-08, 15:07   #17
Elneka

Experienced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kampen NL
Posts: 101
Contribution: 0.04%
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Interest studycase.

Did you also measure the voltage or voltage-drop between the connectors at the Hor. and Vert. PCB's?
Because voltage loss of 0.3 Volt is pretty much!

I've disconnect and connect the Hor. and Vert. PCB's a few times, last week, and maybe there could be some flux (just thinking) in the connectors (male,female), because my Ellion works stable at the moment,
just like right after purchase!
No Black-Screens sofar.

EDIT:
I've measured the voltage and i have 11.76V at the HDD connector,
and 4.86V this is acceptable.
Elneka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-08, 16:01   #18
svcglobal
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Addicted to MPC
 
svcglobal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 88
Contribution: 0.03%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes, the drop over the PCB tracks is huge due the high current of 5v from internal HD and USB ports (I also have one 120GB 2.5" connected).

Along the 5V track (it should have more that 40cm long approx., start to end) there are several thru holes passing from up/down sides but, exactly in the power supply PCB, there is a MosFET serially connected with the 5V track output (must be a 5V switch for power good signal) that only have a single hole.
So, I used a wire-wrap wire to bypass this section and almost 0.1v was rescued.
I my case, using a Seagate 250GB, the 5V current is huge (over .75A) and the best power supply design should have a remote voltage sensing exactly over the high demand device to correct the inevitable voltage drop - very easy to do, needs another wire-wrap wire and I intend to do this next week.

BTW, the switching power supply is very well engineered, it lacks only some prototype cleaning, you know.
svcglobal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-08, 16:45   #19
Elneka

Experienced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kampen NL
Posts: 101
Contribution: 0.04%
Thanks: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Ohhh boy!

I've made some PCB's in the past, and I have ever avoided Via's in a current-rail by design, only in a small signal trace.
But only one Via in a +5V supply-trace (or even GND) this is 'bad'
this must be 2 or more!

Oke for now, before I ever do a FW-flash,
I'll study this case, because if 5V drop's during a FW-flash,
or even a bad Via (not the first time) what happens next!
Elneka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-10, 18:33   #20
leanovi
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Contribution: 0%
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Exact same problem: FW upgrade killed my machine

Originally Posted by WeeHappyPixie View Post
Thanks Sergio,

Personally I have found Ellions support very poor. They rarely ever return emails.

I'm convinced I got a brick.

John
Hi, John,
did you fix your brick finally?
I have a similar one, but cannot put the device in re-flash mode after an interrupted F/W upgrade. Any lessons learned how to un-brick?
Thanks, Ovidiu.
leanovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Updating Firmware Machine Crashes stefor Archive NMT 3 10-03-09 04:40
F/W upgrade killed my machine? saint1970 Archive PVR and DVR 17 13-01-08 20:47
Firmware killed SZ1350 HELP! Rob79 Archive NMT 14 01-06-06 00:53
Quartek offer the exact same player! ErikX Archive NMT 39 03-08-05 12:44
Problem after upgrade to fw 1.07 pettsen General Archived Topics 0 28-10-04 14:39

» MPC top List...

TOP 5 Regular media players

  • Popcorn Hour C-300 (81%)
  • Mede8er Med500x2 (80%)
  • Dune SMART (D1) (65%)
  • HDI Dune Base 3.0 (52%)
  • DViCo TViX X-Roid (00%)

TOP 5 Hybrid media players

  • HDI Dune BD Prime 3.0 (75%)
  • HDI Dune HD SMART B1 (74%)
  • PoPCorn Hour C-200 (68%)
  • HDI Dune MAX (54%)

We do not recommend currently...

  • Xtreamer products
  • Hantech products
  • MViX products
  • DviCo products
  • HDX products
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.1 - twisted by vbTwist and Hi-Jack (MPC Club)