charleyfarley
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active

Contribution: 0%
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Dream Box or Reality?

Hello to the great and the good out there. As you can see i'm a newbie, i might be posting this request for help in the wrong place... apologies if so and moderators feel free to redirect me.

What Do I Have? I'm UK based and currently have a low level sky subscription as i love the ease of sky+ and the number of channels to choose from. I watch a lot of movies thru my Popcorn Hour that works fine if a little clunky and interface plain i do use it a lot. I have a massive amount of music on my laptop and cds that in these modern times i rarely/never play.

What Do I Want? i'd like to cancel sky satellite subscription and save the 20/month. Maintain the channel quantity of the freeview or freesat service - i currently lack a rooftop aerial so freesat would be easier. The functions of a HD dual tuner are important as is the ability to attach external storage and connect wirelessly via my home network. My music i would like to store in a lossless format on the same or attached device and that in turn to connect up to the AV receiver. Finally in this dream set-up the real magic part is i'd like an additional handheld controller that displays artwork for my music and movies, kind of like itunes does.

A single piece of hardware that does all this would have me scrambling for my rainy day money but i am trying to keep costs down and thus far - i've been looking around for weeks - no definitive solutions. If the only one stop solution is to build a HTPC then down that route i will go but if i don't need to happy days!

I appreciate that this request is a bit of a ramble so if it strikes a chord with anyone who reads please share your knowledge.

Muchos gracias
charleyfarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertising
Advertising temporarily disabled
Old 28-01-11, 20:19   #2
Hi-Jack

Think Tank

Contribution: 9.24%