Navigation » MPC Club Community Board > Storage Devices > Network Storage Devices > Other Storage Solutions » Looking for Alternate storage solution.

Notices

» Slysoft Recommended!
1 CLick BD and DVD backups
Download AnyDVD HD!
For Blu-Ray and DVD!
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
» Stats
Members: 87,966
Threads: 29,692
Welcome to our newest member, tua_kee
» MPC Club Advertisers and Sponsors

Old 23-01-12, 23:38   #1
xcaliberx24
Premium Potential
TIP: Upgrade to Premium
Almost Active

Contribution: 0%
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Looking for Alternate storage solution.

Hello i am very new to NAS and i need some help picking out something that works similar to what i have now. Before i begin let me explain my set up. I have a 7 year old computer running windows 7 ultimate 32bit and connected to it i have 9 external usb2.0 hard drives accumulating 13TB worth of data. Now my PC only has 4 usb ports so i was forced to buy a pci express 5 port usb 2.0 card. Now i have run out of space again and cannot get any more hard drives due to lack of usb ports and power outlets. By the way i had to buy 2 6 way power splitters to connect to my wall because i didn't have any more outlets and now i have so many cables all over the place I'm afraid its a fire hazard. But back on topic i have 9 hard drives for storage not backups which means i use them everyday by going to windows explore and clicking on the file i want. That is a function i don't want to lose. So i looked for an alternative solution to so many damn external hard drives and the word server came up. Like i said I'm new to all of this so i did some googling and i even asked in you tube and people told me to get a nas and i asked for a suggestion and they told me drobo. Now i looked at that and it seems that if i wanted say 12tb of data it would only give me 6tb for storage and 6 for backup and that's not what I'm looking for. I want something where i can get all 12 tb for storage i don't care